The Faithfulness of God

When was the last time you pondered the faithfulness of God in your life? If you haven’t I suggest you take inventory and praise Him. Might I even suggest that you ask the LORD to give you the eyes to see His grace in your life. You will be joyfully surprised.

Here’s one of my stories….

Part I
About two and a half years ago, I walked into a store to buy some jeans. As I was looking around, a very outspoken young lady asked me if I needed any help. She was very gregarious and bubbly. I told her I was just looking and if I had any questions I’d ask her. After I found the jeans I was looking for, I stood at the counter ready to make my purchase. Unbeknownst to me, she was the manager and she completed my purchase transaction. Since she was so bubbly, I decided to see if I could get a chance to talk with her with the intention of sharing the gospel.

After the transaction, the conversation continued and I got a chance to share the gospel with her and one of her friends who was also in the store. She asked me what church I attended and I told her. The very next Sunday, I saw her and her friend at church. We spoke for a few minutes about their experience and parted ways.

A few weeks later I was at the same mall and I ran into the young lady while on her lunch break. She told me that she had been convicted of some things we’d spoken about and from the sermon she heard. We went to the food court to discuss those things and also about God’s grace in Christ. She started crying. She told me that she finally understood the gospel, but it just seemed too good to be true. (She had attended a church back in her home town in another state, but never heard the gospel.) I encouraged her to read Romans and Galatians and she said she would.

She eventually started coming on a pretty regular basis, was baptized, joined a small group and is making friends and being transparent with other members of our church.

Part II
Soon after the LORD saved me in 1998, I began praying for a wife. He answered that prayer in 2012 when I was 37 years old. (Don’t worry, I look 26…lol) However, I first met my now wife, originally from Texas, in 2007 in Philadelphia, PA and a church function. When we met then, there were no sparks on either end, but we were cordial and polite to one another. She moved back to Texas in 2010 and we began chatting on Facebook and on the phone and by April 2012 we were engaged. You can read more about our story on her blogsite, A Learning Wife.

We often reminisce how the LORD brought us together and see how the LORD was faithful to answer specific prayers of ours concerning what we wanted in a spouse. Little did we know that when we met in 2007 in North Philadelphia, that we’d be married! While neither of us is perfect in all that we desire to be, there are evidences of those things and by God’s grace we will continue to love each other and mature in Christlikeness bearing fruit to the Father’s glory.

Tying It Together
Today I dropped off my wife and another sister at church so they could attend the annual women’s retreat. That other sister is the young lady mentioned in Part I. It is her first women’s retreat and she was very excited. She and my wife will be carpooling with another sister for an hour drive to the retreat site.

God is faithful isn’t He?!?

I am amazed and in awe to know that God has ordained the proclamation of His gospel by flawed human beings to those dead in sin causing them to be alive spiritually by the Spirit’s power. (Matt. 28:18-20, Acts 13, 18:9-10, Rom. 10:14-16, 1 Cor. 1:18-25)

I am also amazed that the God of the universe delights in the prayers of His people and answers them for His glory and our good! (Prov. 15:8, Matt. 6:5-15, Lk. 11, Jam. 5:16b)

I will sing of the steadfast love of the Lord, forever; with my mouth I will make known your faithfulness to all generations. For I said, “Steadfast love will be built up forever; in the heavens you will establish your faithfulness.”

(Ps 89:1, 2 ESV)

Grace & Peace,

d.

2 thoughts on “The Faithfulness of God

Leave a Reply

