Time is Precious

I turned 34 yesterday. I can remember my college graduation 10.5 years ago as if it were yesterday. I was 23 when the Lord called me to Himself. Where has the time gone?!!

clock1

Since then, life has been filled with great joy and times of sorrow. A lot has happened in the last 10.5 years that has shaped who I am. Some of these things are formal ministry opportunities in various states, spending valuable time with several of my modern “heroes” of the faith, talking to homeless people about the Lord, playing with inner city kids who may never see the outside of the ghetto, street evangelism in a known dope hot spot, open air evangelism next to a prostitution house, as well as in the boardroom toward the CEO of my former employer.

All of this was the doing of the Lord. For if I had my say so in the matter, I wouldn’t have chosen some of these places, but my life is not my own. It’s His, for I was bought with a price to declare the praises of him who called [me] out of darkness into his wonderful light. And doing so will definitely accumulate gains and losses. Many times my losses were initially hard to swallow. Likewise, some of the gains were delayed and initially left me wondering what the point of obedience was. Also, I experienced the pain of loss quicker than than the joy of gain though obedience. But the Lord was gracious toward me and helped me understand the cost of discipleship. Truly, to die is gain!

A couple of years ago, I came across a great book. It’s probably one that I will read many times over. It’s called Don’t Waste Your Life by John Piper. It really had a profound effect on me as it brought to mind several Scriptures that talk about not wasting our lives, but to maximize it for the Lord of Glory. As humans, we were created in the imago dei (image of God). That alone has enormous weight when considering our extrinsic worth and purpose. As believers, we are called to use our time wisely and efficiently. To the Ephesian believers and to us, the Apostle Paul said in chapter 5:

15Therefore be careful how you walk, not as unwise men but as wise, 16making the most of your time, because the days are evil. 17So then do not be foolish, but understand what the will of the Lord is.

There are four commands in these three verse that ought to resonate with us. Be careful how you walk, make the most of your time, do not be foolish, and understand God’s will. This is the pathway to Christlikeness and joy.

The Lord has determined my days and I am none the wiser when He will call me home.  I do not know if I will live another 34 years.  Nor such is my worry or concern.  But if I do, I hope to grow in the grace and knowledge of Christ and bear more fruit to the glory of the Father.  As long as today is called today, by God’s grace I will work for treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in nor steal….which will cause me to evaluate how I spend His time.

May we be a people who recognize the gift and responsibility of His allotment of our time.

Lord, teach us to number our days that we may gain a heart of wisdom!

“The Preciousness of Time” by Timothy Brindle

d.

3 thoughts on “Time is Precious

  1. wow, thanks for writing this. good gosh; you’re thirty-four? time waits for no one, does it? just kidding: i’m not too far behind. not too far at all. it’s amazing to be the age your parents’ friends were when you were a little kid. anyway, this was a really good reflection on true purpose in the midst of earthly years. life is something.

  2. Eve, I believe we are living in a very interesting time in church history and we should use our time with our hands on the plow. I can’t seem to shake this thought.

    Myiesha, thanx! Hope all is well with you!

    d.

Leave a Reply

