God said, “Where Are You?”

One of my goals this year is to read the Bible all the way through and to do so chronologically.  My overall vision is that this would turn into a lifestyle habit until I go to be with my Lord. I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed simply reading (not studying) the inerrant and infallible Word of God. It is indeed a Living Word.  To my shame, I admit that I questioned whether or not if I would enjoy reading Genesis, all 50 chapters.  But I was humbled again with the familiar, but incredible “In the beginning God…..“.  These four words carry an immense amount to think about and be humbled by. Might it be read or understood as, “In the beginning of a new unheard of dimension called time, The Eternal One…” Selah! May you be humbled by The One who is from everlasting to everlasting or who has no beginning nor end, but supremely “is”.

But that’s not the focus of this blog, so let’s proceed.

After being humbled by the account of creation in Genesis 1 and 2, I was struck by something that I’d never seen before in chapter 3. We’re all aware that this is the chapter that communicates what is foundationally wrong with our world today – sin.  Chapter 3 details the fall of man and sin’s entrance into the world. In the very same chapter a Messianic prophecy appears (3:15), but something else grabbed my attention that I have never noticed. In reading the Bible, one of my prayers is to ask for illumination about the essence of God or His attributes. So as I was reading, I came to verses 8-9 of chapter 3, which says,

 8And they heard the sound of the LORD God walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and the man and his wife hid themselves from the presence of the LORD God among the trees of the garden. 9But the LORD God called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?”

It hit me like a ton of bricks.  So much so that I had to stop reading and just praise the Lord for such revelation of truth.

In times past, I’ve often heard the passage of Scripture being taught as the LORD God questioned Adam’s “whereabouts” for Adam’s benefit (confession of sin) and I do not disagree with that. But something more significant is here.

Notice after transgressing God’s command and hearing the sound of the LORD God, Adam and Eve hid themselves from the presence of the LORD God.  Naturally so.  That’s what sin does.  The guilt is too much to bear amidst the light of truth.  But look what the LORD God did.  He called to the man and said to him, “Where are you?”

The essence of reconciliatory grace is being demonstrated by God by His calling to Adam. God mercifully and graciously initiated forgiveness and reconciliation toward Adam. Adam, because of his corrupt nature, had no desire to reconcile with God, for he was hiding and full of shame. His sin separated and prevented him from the nearness that he fell from. His only hope was the gracious effective call of God. So too it is with us.

Grace & Peace,

d.

7 thoughts on “God said, “Where Are You?”

  1. i don’t know what’s going on.

    i’m sitting here eating lunch and reading your first paragraph.

    and what do i hear in my mind? a hymn i haven’t sung or heard in years.

    Lift Him up
    Lift Him UP
    ‘Till He speaks from eternity
    ‘And I
    If I be lifted up from the Earth
    I’ll draw all men unto Me’

    it’s still playing in my mind. where did it come from?

    i don’t know what that’s about.

    anyway, while reading your first paragraph, i just wanted to thank you, dave, for reminding me that last year when i heard dr. piper say that he does exactly the same each and every year, i said i’d start as well. and i went out and got various types of “through the Bible in one year” plans, the first of which was the chronological. thanks for unexpectedly reminding me. i’ll get started today and catch up (not that it’s about speed, but it’s really exciting to do an exercise like this over and over, year after year; plus it gives us the best context ever: the whole Bible!)

    now back to your blog …

  2. now that i think about it, one of those plans literally fell out in front of me last night while i was looking for something else …

    it’s amazing how God is everywhere, active and engaged.

  3. OK. Just finished reading it.

    That last paragraph hit the nail on the head. Wow. It speaks to salvation being a work of the divine from beginning (seeking sinners who can’t seek God, Romans 1; hence there are no “seekers” except the LORD) to the end (glorification).

    I’ve also heard the “where are you in the context of relationship with Me?” version of “where are you” as well as the one you had always heard. But this time, while reading your biblical excerpt, I saw something new, too. It was “but.” Lol! Adam hid … BUT the LORD God. God’s kind of love (true love) is amazing. It was like God had been connected in fellowship with this tiny male being day after day, year after year, and loved it! And then one day, even though God knew what His little friend would do (hide) He saw a disruption in their relationship … and His first instinct was to restore it! The Text doesn’t speak of hesitation at all. It just says “but the LORD God.”

    I don’t think we have any clue as to the depth of His love.

  4. Amen, Eve.

    I think there is a book about the “But God”s of the Bible. That would make for a very good read.

    So……How’s your reading coming? ;o)

    As always, thanx for stopping by offering encouraging thoughts!

    d.

  5. DAVE Dawg….God’s mercies are definitely new every morning! Titus 3:4 “but after that the kindness and love of God our Saviour toward man appeared.” Ephesians 2:5 “..even when we were dead in sins (He) hath quickened us.” It’s so awesome that when we want nothing to do with Him, He still seeks us out!

    And about the readin’ through chronologically in a year! I wanna play too! U and Eve can’t hog all the fun by ya’lls selves! So “little pigs little pigs let me in”…LoL! Peace Fam and thanks 4 the blog!

Leave a Reply

