Nah, I’m Not Feelin’ It. . .

A couple of months ago, Larosa, a brother in the faith, and I set out on an evangelistic excursion to Austin’s inner city. Knowing the Texas hip hop culture, we took some of ReachLife Ministries’ Before You Die CD Tracts with us.  Not too long after we were out we realized this was the wrong part of the day to engage people.  So we drove around familiarizing ourselves with the particular area while engaging in some discussion about ministry, etc.

After scouting the area for about an hour, we decided to leave and get something to eat. Chili’s or Applebee’s? We decided to go to Applebee’s.  Larosa and I chopped it up about life, ministry and his thorough lack of love for MJ (Michael Jordan, not Jackson). Is he serious?? 

I had the nudge to witness to our waiter who seemed to be of the hip-hop influence. I brought one of the CD’s tracts inside with me just in case and this was my opportunity to use it.  I asked our waiter if he was into hip hop and he mentioned that he was into the likes of Young Jeezy, Lil Wayne, and Young Buck. I asked him had he ever heard of Christian hip hop or any artists and he said, “Yeah, Kirk Franklin!” I laughed embarrassingly and said, “He’s not quite hip-hop.”

As we talked more, I found out he was from Dallas, TX , 23 years old and he used to attend church as a child with his grandmother, but he hadn’t been to church in over 15 years. I asked him if he knew what church and Jesus’ death on the cross was about and he said no. So I gave him the gospel and referenced that much of what God hates is glorified in the music of Lil Wayne, etc. He seemed to have understood what I was saying and he admitted he was a sinner. I gave him the CD to listen to and he told me he would. I also put our contact information on there for him. He thanked me and we left.

Last night, (9/27/08), I visited that same Applebee’s and he was there. When I walked in he recognized my face and I called him by his name, Kenoric. He said, “Wow, you remember my name?” I asked him if he got a chance to listen to it and he said he had and that he sent it to his mother. He said he wanted to get my contact information again after I finished eating.

As I was leaving, he asked for my contact information again. I asked him his thoughts on the cd and he said, “Nah, I’m not feeling it. The beats were cool though.”  I didn’t press him anymore because I could tell he didn’t want to get into it. But the way he said it carried a tone that he thought it was foolishness.

Paul said in 1 Corinthians 1:23 and 2:14 :

“But we preach Christ crucified, to Jews a stumbling block and to Gentiles foolishness, …”

“But a natural man does not accept the things of the Spirit of God, for they are foolishness to him and he cannot understand them, because they are spiritually appraised.”

This was very evident in Kenoric. Although, some would argue that the gospel is outside of the scope of “things of the Spirit of God”, I respectfully disagree. The gospel itself is spiritual and God’s appointed means to awaken the sleeper out of spiritual death to life by the power of the Holy Spirit. It further solidifies in my mind the beautiful truth of John 10:16.

My hope is that he didn’t take my contact information as a polite gesture without ever intending to use it. I hope he will contact me. But even if he doesn’t, he has heard the gospel and I trust the Lord to continue to fulfill His will throughout the earth.

d.

4 thoughts on “Nah, I’m Not Feelin’ It. . .

  1. Hey,

    I work with Reach Records and saw your post. We wanted to be better about communicating to bloggers. If you want email me your mailing address and I’ll keep you in the loop on big updates and send you new releases. Thanks for the support!

  2. Did anything come of this?!
    And if not…..remember, some plants, some waters, yet God gives the increase, pretty sweet to think about!

  3. Michelle,

    I haven’t communicated with the young man any further. Hopefully, someone will come along after me and water as you alluded to.

    If you don’t mind me asking, how did you come across this blog?

    Grace & Peace,

    d.

Leave a Reply

