Ike. . . Philly. . .

“I’m sorry sir, Houston Hobby Airport has been shut down due to Hurricane Ike. There will be no departures or arrivals on September 12th or 13th.”

To help this make some sort of sense to you, let me provide some details.

I’m going to Philadelphia tomorrow to visit some dope brothers and sisters in the faith and attend/serve at Epiphany Fellowship’s outreach, From the Concert, To the Classroom, To the Corner or CCC for short.

It was touch and go as to whether or not I would go, but the Lord opened that door, reasonable airfare and all.  So I booked my ticket on Southwest Airlines and all is well….or is it?

I’m sure you’re aware this is hurricane season and right now Hurricane Ike is on deck to hit Galveston/Corpus Christi/Houston by Saturday.  So I called my mother to see how she was preparing to handle it and she is going to stay because she really doesn’t live in the path of where Ike is supposed to strike. Nevertheless, the whole city of Houston will feel its effects.

Traffic out of Galveston on I-45 North

I decided to assess how this storm would affect central Texas, so I checked one of the local news station’s websites. It read, “Southwest Airlines has suspended all flights Friday morning and Saturday morning to and from Corpus Christi and Harlingen, TX. Starting at 9 am Southwest Airlines will cease all flights to and from Houston Hobby Airport.” That was a close call!  You see, my flight leaves Austin at 6:45 am and arrives in Houston at 7:35 am. My connecting flight to Philadelphia was to leave at 7:55 am, so I was in the clear by an hour, right? Right?

I decided to call Southwest Airlines just to make sure everything was still on as I had thought. Wrong! That’s when I was informed that Houston Hobby had been officially shut down. Why didn’t Southwest Airlines call me or e-mail to let me know?

“Would you like a refund, sir? Or we can reschedule you for another flight in a week or so.”

“No, what I’m going for is happening this weekend. Do you have any alternate flights you can put me on. I’m sure there is more than one flight to Philadelphia tomorrow, right?”

By God’s grace, I kept my cool face on!

“Sir we have a flight from Austin –> Nashville, TN –> Raleigh-Durham, NC –> Philadelphia. That doesn’t sound bad does it?”

“Uh ruh…do you have anything else?”

“Okay, it looks like we have one from Austin –> Chicago (Midway) –> Philadelphia. How about that?”

“Is the price the same?”

“No. It’s $60 more per way than what you were on……(Dave rolls eyes, but he’s still cool)….but since you have no control over the weather, we’ll honor the amount you’ve already paid.”

“Thank you! I really appreciate your help! Goodbye.”

So there you have it – how Ike almost ruined my trip to Philadelphia. Everything is pending per the Lord’s sovereign will. If He sees fit, I’ll be in Philadelphia at 1:45 pm tomorrow getting ready for a great time of fellowship and outreach with the saints there. I’ve missed Philadelphia since my last trip there in November 2007.

Lately, the Lord has been reminding me of His magnitude and my smallness simply as I observe creation. This hurricane has altered athletic competitions, gas supply, gas prices, business and academic operations and will change people’s lives forever in the matter of minutes. Such size. Such force. Such power. Yet incomparably small to the One, the Creator of the heavens and the earth! Selah!

Psalm 104

Amen!

d.

One thought on “Ike. . . Philly. . .

  1. He’s sovereign, that’s for sure. It’ll be interesting to see what adventure He has in store for you tomorrow, bro. Easier said than done, but I pray you sit back, relax, and rejoice in whatever comes in this chapter of HisStory.

    Oh, no … that makes it seem like we’re so “powerless” and “it’s all about Him.”

    But we are!

    And it is!

    Lol!

Leave a Reply

