The Redemption of Hip-Hop : My Introduction

CMRHOR

Life is filled with memorable moments. You know, those moments which you’ll never forget where you were, who you were with, how old you were and certain feelings associated with that moment. Well, my hip-hop world was blown away as a believer when I first heard House of Representatives by The Crossmovement in 1999. It actually was released in 1998.  I came to find out later their first release was in 1997 titled Heaven’s Mentality, which I recommend.  Classic Christian hip-hop, yo!

I grew up in Houston, TX, but I always had what one fellow emcee told me was the east coast virus. He had it too and he’s originally from California.  The east coast virus is simply an affection for east coast music and style without having any roots or prior associations with that part of the country.  Funny, right?  I remember as a kid preferring Run DMC, LL Cool J, KRS-ONE, Whodini, Slick Rick, Eric B. and Rakim, Big Daddy Kane and Public Enemy over hometown emcees like the Geto Boys and The Convicts.

In the mid-late 90’s, as a radio DJ in college in San Marcos, TX, I was nicknamed “East Coast” by some of my peers because of the large amount of east coast hip-hop I played on my show.   So naturally, after I got saved, though I no longer desired the lyrics of secular hip-hop, I still longed for intricate lyricism, certain drum patterns, break beats and scratching.

It was quite a frustrating search and I thought I’d never find what I greatly desired – Christocentric lyricism packaged in east coast beats.  It’s not that it didn’t exist.  The problem was the lack of marketing and advertising.  While mainstream hip hop was the 2nd most popular music genre and the fastest growing genre in music in terms of annual sales increases, the Christian music community saw hip-hop as a sub-genre of the contemporary scene.  From a bottom-line dollar standpoint, there was no need to invest in the Christian hip hop market because there was no perceived audience.  Music history proves that notion wrong, especially hip-hop history.  Hip-hop evolved and existed for 5-6 years in the boroughs of New York City before it caught the attention of music executives. Once the street buzz was boomin’, music executives couldn’t help but to see this as a lucrative machine to wrap their hands around.  Remember Rapper’s Delight by The Sugar Hill Gang??

Aside from the business aspects, other tensions were prevalent. The Christian community was slow to receive Christian hip-hop because of hip-hop’s secular reputation. Likewise, the secular hip-hop community shunned Christian hip-hop because of its content.  Literally, it had no place and I identified with this problem and was often misunderstood. How can one love hip hop and Christ? In some people’s minds, these were the antithesis of each other.

Music in and of itself is not inherently evil. The intent and content of music’s lyrics draws the line of distinction between sacred and secular.

That memorable moment?  In 1999, there I was walking around in the Christian bookstore in San Marcos, TX looking for some good reading material and I decided to walk over to the music listening posts. Surprisingly, they had a hip-hop section and I immediately thought to myself, “I wonder how corny this is going to be?” But this album grabbed my attention. I saw 7 guys sitting at a semi-round table dressed up on their upper torsos, and dressed down on their lower torsos.  I saw sneakers, Timbs, and a slogan that said “Advocates Of The Theocratic Rule”. I was intrigued by the cover alone. Then I read the titles of the songs and I played the demo.

INTRODUCIN’ THE LORD JESUS THE  CHRIST // THE AUTHOR, THE FINISHER OF ALL LIFE

We brings the ruckus when we uplift the gift of salvation // It was He who came through forty-two generations // Logos invasion to planet Earth through virgin birth // The last Adam had come to reverse the works of the first // He became a curse to become a cure // The blood poured made sure // That he who enters by the door  will be eternally secured //  What shall I render? // Surrendered lives are due to Him // In due time the True Vine reconciled humans to the divine union of the Father // Hearts are altered to the altar // He died for all walks of life,  He’s the Lord of all cultures // Perfector, resurrector, all life is His //  Sin-disconnector,  eternal-holder of the sceptor of righteousness // Thunderous praise comes from his numberless fleet // The sovereign King all things are placed under His feet // The uncreated, incarnated creator of all creation  is to be celebrated in all occasions // ‘Cause He’s the glorious, victorious victor with the greatest victory of all history// Peep the unveiling mystery // Of the Chief Corner-stoner, The Atoner // May we present to this world the most generous blood donor  (Lyrics written by Juan “Enock” James)

I was rocked! This was it! This was what my heart and mind were looking for! These men looked like me, talked like me and yet it was undeniable that they were students of the Scriptures. You can’t write those kind of rhymes without having been soaked and saturated in Scripture. There is so much doctrine in that one verse.  The Lord used Christian hip-hop to whet my appetite for sound and weighty doctrine.  I wasn’t getting this in urban contemporary gospel music. Christian hip-hop at that point was for me the theological depth of hymns intertwined in urban musical ruggedness. Ah, what a dope blend!!!

Crossmovement, in many respects, has been graciously used to minister to and educate, primarily the hip-hop culture, as well as opened doors for this genre of music to be expanded and marketed better. There is still much work to be done in that aspect and the Lord will move in His time.

What I am blessed by the most is seeing the multifacetedness of redemption. Redemption not only involves people, but the things people do and create, even hip-hop. Hip-hop is not outside of the scope of Christ’s redemption! The beauty of Christ is displayed in array of ways, especially through the arts. And for now, we are only seeing a glimpse of His redemption. It is still unfolding and the culmination is forthcoming!

In future posts, I will highlight the artists that have been a blessing to me as they have endeavored to use hip-hop as their soapbox to magnify the excellencies of Jesus Christ.

Grace & Peace,

d.

5 thoughts on “The Redemption of Hip-Hop : My Introduction

  1. this is inspiration for me to write my own “first intro to CHH” … after i learn how to put an audio sample on the blog! anyway, bro, well-done. well-written and well-said. it baffles me the way God has used CHH in my own life as well. in many ways it’s served as the best earthly discipler i’ve had.

  2. Thanx, sis! I agree with your last sentence. Many times I’ve gotten more out of a 4 minute song than a 40 minute sermon. It’s obvious the Lord is using this medium for His renown! Word up!

  3. ahhh….House of Reps! I found that cd in ’99 also. The cover is what got my attention (cover art is important…forget what you heard:)!

  4. Man….I wanted that cd first because of the video (House of Reps), but I couldn’t find it in the CBS I was in. What I found was Christology and I was blessed to have that before this one! Before I scrolled down to see the lyrics, I immediately thought of “Introducin’ ” and there were the lyrics to that song…lol I still play that song! It’s still tight! I miss Enock! aka Juanito! lol

  5. Pingback: Reverence « Urban Resurgence

Leave a Reply

