Again with the running. . .

Yo!

Okay, so I’m back at it again, running that is and something strange happens. From my place of residence to the major intersection in my area is exactly 1 mile. My typical routine is to run/jog down to the major intersection and walk/jog back.  Well, sticking my chest out in ungodly pride (joke people), I decide to increase my running by a half mile each week – provided I’m consistent in the current week to build to such distance the next week.  So this is my 1.5 mile week.

So this is my routine: (1) run 1 mile to intersection (2) walk .5 mile toward home (3) jog the other .5 mile home.

Well, in the third leg of my journey, again I have my nice Olympic stride going (ala “Combustible” Huxtable) in my Shox and I see this 4 legged furry creature emerge from the street drain. Now I’m thinking it’s a stray cat, but if so, this was some cat. Its rotund girth tipped me off that this was no feline.  As I get closer, I realize indeed this is no cat. It was a raccoon! Yes, a raccoon!

Raccoon – a nocturnal carnivore, Procyon lotor, having a masklike black stripe across the eyes, a sharp snout, and a bushy, ringed tail, native to North and Central America and introduced elsewhere for its valuable fur. (courtesy of Dictionary.com)

As our eyes met, he or it quickly realized he or it didn’t want none of this, so he or it scurried back into the drain, never to be seen again. . .

I didn’t break stride. I kept jogging listening to J’Son in the ‘Pod; but you better believe I turned around twice to see if he or it emerged and decided to pursue. . .

He or it knew better. . .

d.

One thought on “Again with the running. . .

  1. “As our eyes met, he or it quickly realized he or it didn’t want none of this, so he or it scurried back into the drain, never to be seen again. . .”

    LOL! You are hilarious!!! I can’t stand those things…..we have one as the neighborhood pet at my job site.

    Ok…I need to go back to reading the other articles on here. I got my laugh for the am!

Leave a Reply

